:: CHT "Centre for High Technology " ::

Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) on Hydrocarbons

MoP&NG created Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) on Hydrocarbons in 1981, to advise Govt. of India on policies to ensure optimum processing of Hydrocarbon raw material as Fuel and Chemical.


  • To examine and comprehensively deliberate R&D project proposals submitted by various R&D organizations / Academic institutions, for suitable recommendations to MOP&NG for funding by CHT/OIDB
  • To play a supportive role for identifying and formulating long range technology plans and working out suitable mechanism for adoption of indigenous processes
  • To support new ideas and changes for effecting improvements in Hydrocarbon industry.

SAC on Hydrocarbons is the only such Committee functioning without any break since its inception in 1981, out of the several SACs constituted by the Govt. of India in early 1980s under the various economic ministries.

CHT, in its capacity of technical support wing of MOP&NG, has been coordinating for :

  • Functioning of SAC
  • Obtaining approval of EC/GC of CHT for proposals recommended by SAC
  • Arranging OIDB funds,
  • Monitoring of Projects and Follow-up

SAC played crucial role in consolidation of R&D in Hydrocarbon Sector, for instance:

  • Setting up of EIL - R&D Centre to support National Laboratories
  • Modernization of research facilities and pilot plants at IIP
  • Setting up in-house R&D Centres in CPCL and KRL


SAC and CHT, since their establishment, have contributed significantly in development of technologies for the hydrocarbon sector :

  • Guided refineries to upgrade for production of petroleum products of
    improved quality
  • Value addition to improve refinery margin
  • Measures to be adopted to meet the stringent environmental protection regulations


Chairman and Members, Permanent Invitees and Special Invitees to the Scientific Advisory Committee

Sl. No. Name Designation
1. Dr. Anil Kakodkar,
Bhabha Atomic Research Centre,
7th Floor Central Complex,
Mumbai – 400 085
2. Dr. R. Kumar,
Professor Emeritus,
Dept. of Chemical Engineering,
Indian Institute of Science,
Bangaluru – 560 012 (Karnataka)
3. Dr. M. O. Garg,
CSIR - Indian Institute of Petroleum,
P.O.IIP, Mohkampur,
Dehradun – 248 005 (Uttarakhand)
4. Dr. B.D. Kulkarni,
Distinguished Scientist,
CSIR - National Chemical Laboratory,
Dr. Homi Bhabha Road,
Pune – 411 008
5. Dr. D.V. Khakhar,
Indian Institute of Technology - Bombay,
Mumbai – 400 019
6. Dr. (Ms.) M. Lakshmi Kantam,
CSIR - Indian Institute of Chemical Technology,
Uppal Road, Tarnaka,
Hyderabad – 500 007
7. Prof. Shantanu Roy,
Department of Chemical Engineering,
Indian Institute of Technology - Delhi,
Hauz Khas,
New Delhi – 110 016
8. Dr. Ajit Sapre,
President - Refining Technology Group,
Reliance Industries Ltd.,
Reliance Corporate Park, Bldg. No. 7A,
Thane Belapur Road, Ghansoli,
Navi Mumbai – 400 701
9. Shri R.K. Ghosh,
Ex-Director(R), IOCL,
AH-708, Amrapali Village,
Ghaziabad – 201 014
10. Dr. R.K. Malhotra,
Ex-Director(R&D), IOCL,
House No. 303, AGCR Enclave,
Opp. Karkardooma Court,
Delhi – 110 092
11. Shri Sanjiv Singh,
Indian Oil Corporation Ltd.,
SCOPE Complex, 5th Floor, CORE-2,
Lodhi Road,
New Delhi – 110 003
12. Shri B.K. Datta,
Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd.,
Bharat Bhawan, 4&5 Currimbhoy Road,
Ballard Estate, Mumbai – 400 001
13. Shri B.K. Namdeo,
Director (Refineries),
Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Ltd.,
17, Jamshedji Tata Road,
Mumbai – 400 020
14. Shri B.P. Das,
Executive Director - I/C (R&D),
Indian Oil Corporation Ltd.,
R&D Centre,
Faridabad – 121 007
15. Shri Ajay N Deshpande,
Engineers India Limited,
1, Bhikaji Cama Place,
New Delhi – 110 066
16. Dr. B. Bhargava,
Director General,
ONGC Energy Centre,
15th Floor, South Tower, Core-4,
SCOPE Minar Complex, Luzmi Nagar New Delhi – 110 092
17. Shri Ajay Prakash Sawhney, I.A.S. ,
Director General,
Director General of Hydrocarbons,
OIDB Bhawan, Tower A, Sector - 73,
NOIDA – 201 307(U.P.)
18. Shri M.Ravindran,
GAIL India Limited,
16, Bhikaji Cama Place, R.K. Puram
New Delhi – 110 066
19. Shri Sanjiv Mittal,
Oil Industry Development Board,
OIDB Bhawan,
Plot No. 2, Sector – 73,
NOIDA – 201 307 (U.P.)
20. Shri Brijesh Kumar,
Executive Director,
Centre for High Technology,
OIDB Bhawan, Tower "A", 9th Floor
Plot No. 2, Sector – 73,
NOIDA – 201 307 (U.P.)
21. Shri Sandeep Poundrik, I.A.S.,
Joint Secretary(Refineries),
Ministry of Petroleum & Natural Gas,
Shastri Bhawan,
New Delhi – 110 001
Permanent Invitee
22. Shri Sanjay Bhargava,
Bharat Petroleum Corporation Ltd.,
Corporate R&D Centre, Plot No. 2A,
Udyog Kendra, Surajpur Industrial Area,
Greater NOIDA – 201 306
Permanent Invitee
23. Shri N.V. Choudary,
General Manager(R&D),
Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Ltd.,
KIADB Industrial Area, Hoskote,
Bangalore – 560 067
Permanent Invitee
24. Ms Vartika Shukla,
Executive Director,
R&D Centtre, Engineers India Ltd.,
Sector - 16,
Gurgaon – 122 001
Permanent Invitee
25. Dr. A. Meenakshisundaram,
Chief Manager & Head (R&D),
Chennai Petroleum Corporation Ltd.,
Chennai – 600 068
Permanent Invitee
26. Shri R.K. Kashyap,
Executive Director (R&D),
GAIL India Ltd.,
8th Floor, Jubilee Tower,
B-35-36, Sector - 1,
NOIDA – 201 301
Permanent Invitee
27. Shri Gautam Roy,
Managing Director,
Chennai Petroleum Corporation Limited,
536, Anna Salai, Teynampet,
Chennai – 600 018
Special Invitee
28. Shri P. Padmanabhan,
Managing Director,
Numaligarh Refinery Limited,
6th Floor, Tolstoy House,
15-17, Tolstoy Marg,
New Delhi – 110 001
Special Invitee
29. Shri H. Kumar,
Managing Director,
Mangalore Refinery & Petrochemicals Ltd.,
Mangalore - 575 030
Special Invitee


© Copyright Centre for High Technology. All Rights Reserved. © Site designed & maintained by Centre for High Technology